CBG Corp, state-of-the-art logging tools and sensors
English language version of website.

地质导向电阻率仪器(GRT)

概述 | 规范 | PDF 宣传册

为什么我们测量电阻率?

电阻率是岩石的电性质, 可以指出碳氢化合物的存在。这是因为大部分的岩石是在低电阻率的水中,而油和天然气的电阻率是非常高的。所以我们当然要让井眼在储层岩石中含油气最高的地层中经过,而不只是根据某种类型的地层而导向。你能够避免钻到储层岩石中的水区(这是伽马仪器探测不到的)。所有这些,包括更多的, 就是GRT仪器的目的。

大部分的MWD电阻率仪器都是高频的“波传播”型仪器,其可以测量岩石的平均电阻率。然而,这类仪器很难在水平井里做随钻的地质导向,因为这些仪器的测量数据需要复杂的相位及幅度解释来发现临近地层的边界。此外,由于地层的异相性或者地层侵入会引起测量曲线的分离,导致钻过地层的边界,之后再需要进行井轨迹的修正。除此之外,很少有人愿意学习这样复杂的测井解释方法。
客户可在此下载仪器手册

独特的定向电阻率测量可以导致更好的地质导向

CBG公司发明的电阻率矢量测量方法,获得了(US patent #6,064,210 , Canadian Patent #2,321,984 and UK patent 2,353,596)专利。比如,该仪器能够早期地显示出附近页岩层的方向和距离,这样可以让钻工及时地纠正钻头来避免钻出油层。GRT仪器没有使用第三方的技术,因此不需要支付额外的费用。

这电阻率的额外定向信息为定向钻井公司,在合适的价格内,提供最新的地质导向技术。点击下载 PDF说明书。

GRT Assembly Sectional


GRT是一种先进的侧向成像测井仪器,通过四个独立的接受电极可以获取电阻率方位的测量能力。这种能力使得GRT可以探测邻近地层并确定该地层的电阻率或电导率,和判断该地层的方向及距离。GRT的先进预警系统,使得地质导向容易很多!

左图(来自计算机模型),显示了发射器向四周发射一束电流。电流密度在上部导电岩石(如页岩)的电流密度高,因此,上部电极接收的电流比底部电极的电流高。通过仪器上下部的电流比较,可以计算出临近地层的距离及方向。

与别的同类仪器相比,GRT仪器不需要通过旋转来决定邻层的方向,因为多个定向探头的数据可以通过数学方式来参照重力的数据。

GRT的定向电阻率数据可以被我们专利的先进图形显示所显示出来,这是钻井工熟悉的显示定向井的方向圈。

连续性的,实时更新的井眼图形显示可以指示电导/电阻异常的距离及方向,使得钻井工人可以智能化地引导钻井方向,而不需要分析电阻率测井曲线。

先进的低成本设计


GRT仪器是用当今最先进的技术而设计的。例如,FEMLAB的3维有限元分析是用于优化机械及电子参数。

右图所示的GRT仪器是通过两个电极所接收的电流比值来从电阻层中区分出临近的导电层,并确定两个地层的边界距离。

受益于富有创造性的电子及机械设计,GRT提供了精确及可靠的运行,以及低成本和可维护性。内部电路能够做刻度测量来确保该仪器在各种工作环境下的稳定性及测量精度。

如果需要维护或修理GRT,该仪器基于探头式的结构,使得拆装快速和简单。

随钻测井

除了在定向钻井中的应用,GRT也是非常好的常规随钻电阻率测井仪器。4.75英寸直径的GRT仪器可以在6.5英寸井眼的井中进行准确的测量。即使井眼冲刷到直径12英寸,仪器仍然可以保持可接受的测量精度。

完整的测井曲线将保留在GRT的内存中,随后在GRT从井中取出时,可以快速地下载到计算机上。点击 查看GTI Catoosa井中测试的实际测井曲线。下载数据时,不必将GRT仪器从底部钻具组合中取出。此外,GRT仪器还可以在内部加入一个伽马仪器(标准的或定向的),以提供工业界中独特的定向能力。

GRT仪器可以作为一只独立的仪器使用,也可作为随钻电阻率测井系统的一部分。该系统包括一个地面显示系统,显示软件,以及数据传输/控制系统。由于GRT仪器中的10芯连接线贯通整个仪器,泥浆脉冲器可以安装在GRT上部或下部。

GRT也可以与GE/Tensor类的系统兼容,也可以连接到工业界中其它标准的工具串上。仪器顶部位置上的内部斜口螺旋可以确保定向测量探头总是与GRT探头的位置保持一致。

由于GRT是侧向类的仪器,在油基泥浆中的测量不会准确。然而,在高电阻率地层中可以得到精度稍差一些的测量。

侧向类仪器在电阻率非常高的地层中运行性能良好,因为该仪器可以非常容易地区别出油于水。实例显示出在委内瑞拉,奥里诺科盆地的重油中,电磁波传播类型的仪器无法使用。此外在淡水注入的注水井中例如在沙特,当地层电阻率高于200欧姆米时,电磁波传播类型的仪器也不能准确地测量。

临近地层的探测距离

GRT与别的定位电阻率仪器相比的另一个优点,如下图所示,就是邻层的探测距离只与电阻率的比值相关,而不与实际的电阻率相关。在很宽的电阻率范围内,包括那些拥有高电阻率的油藏,邻层的探测距离基本上是固定的。

与电磁波传播类型的仪器不同,GRT可以很好地探测到电阻边界和导电边界,这样当钻井轨迹出了油藏(或者通过断层时),钻井工人可以知道怎样回到原来的油藏。

CBG Corp.: GRT Measurement Distance

CBG Corp, state-of-the-art logging tools and sensors
中文网站

Geosteering Resistivity Tool

Overview | Specifications | PDF Brochure

Why do we log Resistivity?

Resistivity is an electrical property of rocks that indicates the presence of Hydrocarbons. This is because most rocks are saturated with low-resistivity water, while oil and gas are very high resistivity. It makes sense when Geosteering in a reservoir to be following the “sweet-spot” of maximum hydrocarbon saturation, rather than just following a given rock type. You can also avoid drilling water-wet sections of reservoir rock (not apparent from the gamma log). All this, and more, is exactly what the GRT makes possible.

Most MWD Resistivity tools are of the high-frequency “Wave-Propagation” type, and can accurately measure the average rock-formation resistivity. However, this type of tool may be difficult to use while steering a horizontal well because it requires complex interpretation of phase and attenuation logs to “see” an approaching bed-boundary. It is easy to mistake curve separations due to other effects such as Anisotropy or Invasion, resulting in drilling through a bed-boundary, and then having to backtrack. Who wants to learn complex log analysis just to steer a well? In addition, most wave-propagation tools are not directionally-sensitive, so course corrections are often based on guesses.
Customers may download product manual.

Unique Directional Resistivity measurements enable better Geosteering

CBG Corporation has invented and patented (US patent #7,657,377 , US patent #6,064,210 , Canada Patent #2,321,984, China Patent ZL200880018008.3, and UK patent 2,353,596) a method for measuring resistivity as a vector quantity. For example, up to one meter before mistakenly drilling out of a reservoir, advance indication of the distance and direction to a nearby shale bed is available so that corrective action can be taken. The GRT does not employ any third-party proprietary technology so there are no licensing fees to pay.

The addition of directional information to the resistivity reading provides a new enabling technology for Geosteering, at a price that is affordable for Directional-Drilling companies. Click to download a PDF Demo.


GRT Assembly Sectional


The GRT is an advanced Focused Laterolog device, incorporating a transmitting electrode and four independent receiving electrodes placed in quadrants around the collar to create an azimuthally-sensitive resistivity measurement. This capability allows the GRT to detect a nearby bed, determine whether it is conductive or resistive, and ascertain its direction and distance. With the advance warning, Geosteering is made easier!

In the diagram at left (from a computer model), the transmitter emits an electric current in all directions. The electric current density is higher in the upper conductive rock region (e.g. a shale), so the upper receiving electrode receives a bigger current than the lower electrode. By computing the ratio of the currents the tool can calculate the distance and direction to the bed boundary.

Unlike competing tools, it is not necessary to rotate the GRT to determine the direction to an adjacent bed boundary, because directional sensors are used to mathematically “reference” the result relative to gravity!

Directional resistivity data from the GRT can be graphically presented on a patented surface display in an enhanced version of the familiar compass rose drillers display typically employed in directional drilling.

A continuously-updated borehole image showing the distance and direction to conductive/resistive anomalies enables the operator to intelligently direct the drilling process, without having to analyze resistivity logs.

Advanced Cost-Effective Design

State-of-the-art techniques were applied in creating the GRT. For example, FEMLAB 3D Finite-Element-Analysis modeling was used to optimize mechanical and electrical parameters.

A graph (at right) from the model of the GRT illustrates how the ratio of current received by a pair of electrodes can be used to distinguish a parallel conductive bed from a resistive bed, and determine the distance to the boundary.

Benefiting from its innovative electronic and mechanical design, the GRT provides accurate and reliable operation, combined with low cost and serviceability. Sophisticated self-calibrating measurement circuitry ensures that stability and precision are maintained across the full range of operating conditions.

Should it be necessary to service or repair the GRT, its rugged, probe-based construction makes disassembly and reassembly quick and easy.

Logging While Drilling

Of course, in addition to its application in directional drilling, the GRT performs exceptionally well as a conventional LWD resistivity tool. In the graph at left, the 4.75 inch diameter tool is shown capable of very accurate measurements in a 6.5 inch diameter hole whatever the mud resistivity. Even in severe washouts up to 12 inches in diameter, the tool retains acceptable accuracy.

A complete log is saved in the GRT internal memory and can be subsequently downloaded through a high-speed link to a PC when the GRT is retrieved from the well. Click to see actual log of a GTI Catoosa test well. It is not necessary to remove the tool from the BHA to download data. Furthermore, the GRT can include an internal Gamma-Ray tool (standard or directional), providing directional capability that is unique in the industry.

The GRT can be provided as a stand-alone tool, or part of a complete LWD resistivity system, including a surface display, display software, and data communications/control electronics. Click to download a Tool String Drawing.

A Mud-Pulser can be mounted above or below due to the Pulse, Flow, Power and Ground bus-wires passing through the tool.

The GRT is available compatible with Tensor-type systems, and can be readily integrated into other industry-standard tool strings. A built-in Muleshoe helix at the top end of the tool ensures that the Directional Sensor package is always correctly oriented with the GRT sensors.

Since the GRT is a laterolog-type tool, it will give less-accurate results in oil-based muds if there is a significant amount of emulsion breakdown. However, in high resistivity formations operation at reduced accuracy is still possible.

Laterolog tools excel in very high-resistivity formations, where it may be necessary to distinguish between oil and fresh water. An example is the heavy-oil Orinoco Basin of Venezuela, where the Wave-Propagation tools have been found unusable. Another example is in fresh-water injection well situations, such as in Saudi Arabia. Wave-Propagation tools are not accurate in resistivities above about 200 ohm.meters due to unpredictable dielectric effects.

Detection Distance to an Approaching Bed Boundary

The GRT has another advantage over other directional types of resistivity tools. As the graph below indicates, the detection distance for an adjacent contrasting rock formation is dependant only on resistivity contrast, and not on the actual resistivities. Detection distance is constant for a wide range of resistivities, particularly for the most important high values typical of oil reservoirs.

Unlike the “Wave-Propagation” types, the GRT can see both resistive and conductive boundaries equally well, so if you drill out of the reservoir (or pass through a fault) you know how to get back!

CBG Corp.: GRT Measurement Distance